(Proverbs 23:29-35) A Contrast Between Righteousness & Wickedness (Part 5)

By GL Jones

A comparison of the King James and the New Life Translation Versions of Proverbs 23.

Contrast: Righteousness & Wickedness (Proverbs 23:29-35) KJV:

29- Who hath woe? who hath sorrow? who hath contentions? who hath babbling? who hath wounds without cause? who hath redness of eyes?

30- They that tarry long at the wine; they that go to seek mixed wine.

31- Look not thou upon the wine when it is red, when it giveth his colour in the cup, when it moveth itself aright.

32- At the last it biteth like a serpent, and stingeth like an adder.

33- Thine eyes shall behold strange women, and thine heart shall utter perverse things.

34- Yea, thou shalt be as he that lieth down in the midst of the sea, or as he that lieth upon the top of a mast.

35- They have stricken me, shalt thou say, and I was not sick; they have beaten me, and I felt it not: when shall I awake? I will seek it yet again.

 

 

Contrast: Righteousness & Wickedness (Proverbs 23:29-35) NLT:

29- Who has anguish? Who has sorrow?Who is always fighting? Who is always complaining?Who has unnecessary bruises? Who has bloodshot eyes?

30- It is the one who spends long hours in the taverns,trying out new drinks.

31- Don’t gaze at the wine, seeing how red it is,how it sparkles in the cup, how smoothly it goes down.

32- For in the end it bites like a poisonous snake;it stings like a viper.

33- You will see hallucinations,and you will say crazy things.

34- You will stagger like a sailor tossed at sea,clinging to a swaying mast.

35- And you will say, “They hit me, but I didn’t feel it.I didn’t even know it when they beat me up.When will I wake upso I can look for another drink?”

 

Leave a Reply

