Immorality Rebuked (Proverbs 5 -Part 2)

by GL Jones

A comparison of the King James and the New Life Translation Versions of Proverbs 5 of the Bible.

Solomon is reported to have a lot of women in his lifetime: (700wives + 300 concubines), so he had a lot of sons. Here is his wise instruction to them. Having much experience as a parent, he now gives the children more instructions:

Proverbs 5: 9-16 KJV. (A Parental Warnings)

9- Lest thou give thine honour unto others, and thy years unto the cruel:

10- Lest strangers be filled with thy wealth; and thy labours be in the house of a stranger;

11- And thou mourn at the last, when thy flesh and thy body are consumed,

12- And say, How have I hated instruction, and my heart despised reproof;

13- And have not obeyed the voice of my teachers, nor inclined mine ear to them that instructed me!

14- I was almost in all evil in the midst of the congregation and assembly.

15- Drink waters out of thine own cistern, and running waters out of thine own well.

16- Let thy fountains be dispersed abroad, and rivers of waters in the streets. 

 

 

Proverbs 5:9-16  NLT (Lessons for Daily Life)

9- If you do, you will lose your honorand will lose to merciless people all you have achieved.

10- Strangers will consume your wealth,and someone else will enjoy the fruit of your labor.

11- In the end you will groan in anguishwhen disease consumes your body.

12- You will say, “How I hated discipline! If only I had not ignored all the warnings!

13- Oh, why didn’t I listen to my teachers? Why didn’t I pay attention to my instructors?

14- I have come to the brink of utter ruin,and now I must face public disgrace.”

15- Drink  water from your own well—share your love only with your wife.

16- Why spill the water of your springs in the streets,having sex with just anyone?

Leave a Reply

